templates/PlayerBio.tmpl Matt Powledge Bio - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Trinity Diamonds Direct
ULM Football BIO
 Matt Powledge

Matt Powledge returned to the FBS ranks when he was hired as ULM's tight ends coach/special teams coordinator in February 2016.

He came to Monroe via Sam Houston State, where he led his alma mater to arguably its best special teams season of all-time. The Bearkats ranked atop the Southland Conference leaderboard in four different categories (punt return yards, blocked kicks, special teams scores and PAT percentage). The squad was also one of six teams in the NCAA to block two-plus punts and return two or more for touchdowns.

Powledge also helped lead the offense to a No. 1 ranking in the country as well as top-five finishes in scoring offense and rushing.

His previous stop was at Kentucky, where Powledge served as a graduate assistant for the 2013 season. He assisted the special teams coordinator with weekly planning and was in cahrge of film input, breakdowns of weekly opponents and compiling scouting reports among other things.

Powledge's previous two stops were also in the Southland Conference. He was on the Northwestern State staff for the 2012 season and mentored Philip Harvey to All-American honors for returning while serving as the running backs and fullbacks coach as well. Prior to that position in Natchitoches, he was a graduate assistant from 2010-11 at Southeastern Louisiana. He earned his Master of Arts in Sports Management there while assisting with everyday planning for the opponents.

Powledge was a standout at Sam Houston State from 2005-09, culminating in All-Southland and team captain honors his senior season. He also made the Academic Honor Roll and was invited to the Elite Pro Football Combine.

Playing for coach Mitch Coey at Huntsville (Texas) High School, Powledge was an all-district running back and linebacker and earned area “Red Zone Player of the Year” honors.

Position: Assistant Coach / Tight Ends / Special Teams
Alma Mater: Sam Houston State
Graduating Year: 2009