templates/ArticleTopCenter.tmpl 1987 National Championship Team to be Inducted into ULM Hall of Fame - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Stewart Shelby State Farm
Trinity Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
1987 National Championship Team to be Inducted into ULM Hall of Fame
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Release: March 26, 2012
Print RSS

MONROE, La. - ULM's 1987 national championship football team will be inducted into the ULM Athletic Hall of Fame this fall, Director of Athletics Bobby Staub announced Monday. The induction ceremony will take place during the ULM-Florida Atlantic football game scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 13, at Malone Stadium.

"This is a most deserving honor, and we're extremely excited to recognize the 1987 team on the 25th anniversary of their memorable season," Staub said.

Under the direction of head coach Pat Collins, ULM finished with a 13-2 record in 1987 and defeated Marshall 43-42 in the title game to earn its second national championship in school history. Quarterback Stan Humphries threw the game-winning touchdown with 7:19 remaining against the Thundering Herd. The ULM defense stopped a pair of Marshall drives in the final minutes to seal the victory. ULM defeated North Texas, Eastern Kentucky and Northern Iowa in playoff games leading to the national championship contest.  

Today, 25 years after the 1987 season, ULM is still the only university from Louisiana or the Southland Conference to ever win the 1-AA championship. 

"ULM has had a long-standing tradition of recognizing individual athletes, but recognizing an entire team speaks volumes for the university," Collins said. "The 1987 team had dedication, spirit and commitment on and off the field. It will forever be a great year for ULM football."

Collins was named Chevrolet and Football News National Coach of the Year, while also garnering Southland and Louisiana Coach of the Year honors. Defensive tackle Claude Brumfield and offensive tackle John Clement were consensus first team All-Americans, while Humphries and kicker Teddy Garcia were first teamers on at least one All-America squad. Free safety Cyril Crutchfield earned second team All-America honors.

Humphries led a high-powered ULM offense that averaged 414.9 yards and 30.4 points per game that season.  Humphries threw for 2,622 yards and 22 touchdowns during the regular season. He went on to throw for 1,397 yards and 11 touchdowns in ULM's four playoff victories. The Warhawks also boasted the Southland's top defense, which allowed 303.8 yards and 19.9 points per game. 

Three players on the 1987 team were chosen in the National Football League Draft, including Humphries (sixth round, Washington Redskins) and Garcia (fourth round, New England Patriots) in 1988, and tight end Jackie Harris (fourth round, Green Bay Packers) in 1990. Humphries had the most decorated career in the NFL, playing eight seasons for the Redskins and San Diego Chargers. Humphries started six seasons for the Chargers and guided the franchise to its only Super Bowl appearance in 1994, a 49-26 loss to the San Francisco 49ers.