templates/ArticleTopCenter.tmpl ULM Honors 1987 National Championship Team - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Stewart Shelby State Farm
Trinity Ad
Article Image
Former ULM Football Head Coach Pat Collins
Courtesy: Terrance Armstard/ulmwarhawks.com
ULM Honors 1987 National Championship Team
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Release: October 13, 2012
Print RSS

MONROE, La. - On Saturday, ULM's 1987 1-AA (FCS) national championship football team was inducted into the ULM Hall of Fame during a special luncheon held inside Fant-Ewing Coliseum.  The team was also honored at halftime of the ULM/Florida Atlantic game Saturday night.

Under the direction of head coach Pat Collins, ULM finished with a 13-2 record in 1987 and defeated Marshall 43-42 in the title game to earn its second national championship in school history. Quarterback Stan Humphries threw the game-winning touchdown with 7:19 remaining against the Thundering Herd. The ULM defense stopped a pair of Marshall drives in the final minutes to seal the victory. ULM defeated North Texas, Eastern Kentucky and Northern Iowa in playoff games leading to the national championship contest.  

"I appreciate what the university has done to honor the 1987 championship team," said Collins.  "It is one thing to have an individual inducted into the ULM Hall of Fame, but to have the entire team inducted is a tremendous honor.  I am thankful for all of the hard work completed by the athletic department and the university as a whole to make this happen and I appreciate all of those involved in this decision." 

Today, 25 years after the 1987 season, ULM is still the only university from Louisiana or the Southland Conference to ever win the 1-AA (FCS) championship. 

Collins was named Chevrolet and Football News National Coach of the Year, while also garnering Southland and Louisiana Coach of the Year honors. Defensive tackle Claude Brumfield and offensive tackle John Clement were consensus first team All-Americans, while Humphries and kicker Teddy Garcia were first teamers on at least one All-America squad. Free safety Cyril Crutchfield earned second team All-America honors.

Humphries led a high-powered ULM offense that averaged 414.9 yards and 30.4 points per game that season.  Humphries threw for 2,622 yards and 22 touchdowns during the regular season. He went on to throw for 1,397 yards and 11 touchdowns in ULM's four playoff victories. The Warhawks also boasted the Southland's top defense, which allowed 303.8 yards and 19.9 points per game. 

Three players on the 1987 team were chosen in the National Football League Draft, including Humphries (sixth round, Washington Redskins) and Garcia (fourth round, New England Patriots) in 1988, and tight end Jackie Harris (fourth round, Green Bay Packers) in 1990. Humphries had the most decorated career in the NFL, playing eight seasons for the Redskins and San Diego Chargers. Humphries started six seasons for the Chargers and guided the franchise to its only Super Bowl appearance in 1994, a 49-26 loss to the San Francisco 49ers.