templates/ArticleTopCenter.tmpl Berry Earns Coach of the Year Honors; Four Players Named All-Louisiana - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Trinity Diamonds Direct
Article Image
Head Coach Todd Berry
Courtesy: Jeremy Stevens / ulmwarhawks.com
Berry Earns Coach of the Year Honors; Four Players Named All-Louisiana
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Release: December 24, 2012
Print RSS

MONROE, La. -- The Louisiana Sports Writer's Association released its end of season awards today and ULM head coach Todd Berry was named Coach of the Year while four Warhawks earned All-Louisiana honors.

Coach Berry guided the Warhawks to an FBS-era best eight wins this season including an win over then-No. 8 Arkansas (Sept. 8 - W, 34-31, OT).  In conference play, ULM finished in a three-way tie for second with a 6-2 mark.

Brent Leonard was named first team All-Louisiana after leading the league and the conference during the regular season with 97 receptions.  He currently has 1,042 receiving yards and he is the first ULM receiver to post 1,000 or more receiving yards in a season since 2002.  The senior is also just two receptions shy of setting a new career record; Leonard currently has 202 receptions and trails only Mack Vincent who totaled 203 receptions from 2000-03.

ULM had a pair of second team All-Louisiana selections in Kolton Browning and Isaiah Newsome. 

Browning started 11 games for ULM this season and the junior finished 252-for-389 with 27 touchdown passes and seven interceptions.  He also rushed for 441 yards and seven scores.  Browning also became the Warhawks all-time leader in touchdown passes this season as he surpassed Steven Jyles.

Newsome, meanwhile, started all 12 games and totaled 55 tackles this season.  He also led the Warhawks in interceptions with four while tallying five breakups and one fumble recovery.

ULM offensive lineman Josh Allen earned honorable mention honors.  The Warhawk center started all 12 games and was part of the ULM offensive line that helped the offense tally 500 or more yards of total offense five times this season.

The Warhawks will battle the Ohio Bobcats Friday afternoon at 1 p.m. in the 2012 AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl.  The game played inside Independence Stadium will air nationally on ESPN.