templates/ArticleTopCenter.tmpl Wheelock Named SBC Coach of the Year; Scroggins First-Team - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Stewart Shelby State Farm
Trinity Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Wheelock Named SBC Coach of the Year; Scroggins First-Team
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Release: November 01, 2016
Print RSS

FOLEY, Al. – The ULM soccer team received a pair of Sun Belt All-Conference recognitions on Tuesday, as the league announced its annual postseason awards. Sophomore goalkeeper Brooke-Lynn Scroggins received first-team recognition, while first year head coach Keyton Wheelock has been named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Scroggins earned her First Team all-Sun Belt recognition after finishing the regular season as one of the top goalkeepers not just in Sun Belt Conference but nationally. Her 124 total saves ranks first in the country as the Warhawks get set for the first round of the conference tournament on Wednesday against Little Rock.

“I am very pleased for Brooke-Lynn to get the recognition she deserves. She has been called upon and performed many times this year. It also shows the respect our entire team has earned defensively this season,” Wheelock stated. “We have been extremely hard working team and very hard to breakdown and Brooke-Lynn receiving First Team recognition goes to show that has been the case.”

Wheelock was selected as the Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year in her first season after leading the Warhawks to a 7-8-3 mark through the regular season while going 4-4-2 in the Sun Belt. She guided the team to its first-ever trip to the Sun Belt Tournament, as the squad finished the regular season tied for fourth in the standings. The four victories are the most wins for a Warhawk team in Sun Belt play since 2007 when the Warhawks also won four games.

“I am honored to be receiving the Sun Belt Coach of the Year award. To get this award from a group of 10 coaches who I respect is truly a privilege. It is an award that belongs to this entire program – from the strength coaches who have worked with us in the spring and fall, our athletic trainers who keep our players healthy, my two assistants who have put in long hours breaking down film and working practice plans by my side and mostly to my 26 players who have put in a tremendous amount of effort this season learning and adapting to different tactics,” Wheelock commented.

“This award is truly a representation of the work of many and I am truly appreciative that it is recognized,” she added.

The full rundown of Sun Belt All-Conference selections and individual honors is listed below:


First Team All-Conference

Brooke-Lynn Scroggins (ULM, Sophomore, Goalkeeper)

Jane Cline (Appalachian State, Senior, Forward)

Arola Aparicio (Little Rock, Sophomore, Forward)

Amber Adams (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Forward)

Daniella Famili (Coastal Carolina, Junior, Forward)

Sarah Price (Georgia Southern, Junior, Forward)

Yazmin Montoya (UL Lafayette, Senior, Forward)

Rio Hardy (South Alabama, Junior, Forward)

Alexis Jordan (South Alabama, Freshman, Defender)

Jemma Purfield (South Alabama, Sophomore, Defender)

Lauren Prater (Texas State, Senior, Forward)


Second Team All-Conference

Kelsey Ponder (Arkansas State, Sophomore, Goalkeeper)

Doro Greulich (Little Rock, Freshman, Midfielder)

Mikayla Uyokpeyi (Little Rock, Senior, Midfielder)

Quin Wilkes (Little Rock, Junior, Midfielder)

Becca Austin (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Goalkeeper)

Monique Autmon (South Alabama, Senior, Midfielder)

Hannah Godfrey (South Alabama, Sophomore, Defender)

Danielle Henley (South Alabama, Junior, Midfielder)

Alex Huynh (Troy, Senior, Defender)

Abby Reynolds (Troy, Senior, Forward)

Haley Roberson (Troy, Junior, Defender)


2016 Coach of the Year

Keyton Wheelock, ULM


2016 Player of the Year

Jemma Purfield (South Alabama, Sophomore, Defender)


2016 Offensive Player of the Year

Jane Cline (Appalachian State, Senior, Forward)


2016 Defensive Player of the Year

Jemma Purfield (South Alabama, Sophomore, Defender)


2016 Freshman of the Year

Alexis Jordan (South Alabama, Freshman, Defender)


2016 Newcomer of the Year

Taylor Schneider (Arkansas State, Sophomore, Midfielder)