templates/ArticleTopCenter.tmpl Warhawks Rack Up Sun Belt Conference Honors - ULM Warhawks Athletics
Stewart Shelby State Farm
Trinity Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Srdjan Marjanovic / ULM Photo Services
Warhawks Rack Up Sun Belt Conference Honors
Courtesy: ulmwarhawks.com
Release: April 20, 2017
Print RSS

New Orleans, La. – The ULM tennis team racked up the honors on Thursday night as the Sun Belt Conference announced its annual postseason awards in New Orleans in conjunction with the 2017 SBC Tennis Championship.

Junior Stefana Andrei earned Newcomer of the Year honors, All-Sun Belt first team honors as a singles player and was part of the All-Sun Belt second team in doubles action along with senior Petra Horakova. For the second straight year, sophomore Tiffany Mylonas was named to the All-Sun Belt singles team, this time earning first team honors. Along with her doubles team recognition, Horakova also earned second team All-Conference honors for her singles play. ULM head coach Terrence De Jongh finished off the awards for the Warhawks by earning Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year recognition.

Andrei came to ULM from Bucharest, Romania this season and has a 9-2 record, playing all of her matches out of the number one position. Andrei's recognition marks the first time a Warhawk player has earned Newcomer of the Year honors since the 2001 season, when Julie Perovic earned the honor from the Southland Conference.

Mylonas carries an 11-1 record into Friday’s SBC Championship opener against Texas State, playing primarily out of the number two position. Mylonas sits with a 28-4 dual record overall through two years.

Horakova racked up All-Sun Belt singles honors for the third time in her career, earning the recognition this season following her perfect 13-0 mark heading into the postseason. 

De Jongh earns Sun Belt Conference Cach of the Year honors after leading the Warhawks to a 13-1 spring record this season, marking the third straight season, and seventh overall, that De Jongh has led his teams to 10 or more wins in dual play. This season, De Jongh saw the Warhawks ranked in the Top 50 in the ITA rankings for the first time ever, while Horakova was ranked in the singles Top 125 earlier this season.

De Jongh's honor is the first Sun Belt Coach of the Year recognition for ULM, with the previous five Coach of the Year awards in program history having all been from the Warhawks' Southland Conference days, with the most recent coming in 1997.


The full rundown of Sun Belt All-Conference selections and individual honors is listed below:

Player of the Year

Alexandria Stiteler (South Alabama)

Player to Watch

Arina Taluyenko (Georgia State)

Newcomer of the Year

Stefana Andrei (ULM)

Freshman of the Year

Rylie Cox (Coastal Carolina)

Coach of the Year

Terrence De Jongh (ULM)

All-Sun Belt Singles First Team

Rylie Cox (Coastal Carolina)

Kristin Rehse (Georgia State)

Arina Taluyenko (Georgia State)

Stefana Andrei (ULM)

Tiffany Mylonas (ULM)

Alexandria Stiteler (South Alabama)

All-Sun Belt Doubles First Team

Astrid Gehre/Anna Wichert (UTA)

Agustina Serio/Valeria Lopez (UTA)

Sanae Ohta/Nancy Karaky (Troy)

All-Sun Belt Singles Second Team

Julie Gauguery (Arkansas State)

Marie Babayan (Coastal Carolina)

Petra Horakova (ULM)

Laura Matuskova (South Alabama)

Angeles de los Rios (UTA)

Agustina Serio (UTA)

All-Sun Belt Doubles Second Team

Stefana Andrei/Petra Horakova (ULM)

Patricia Martins/Laura Valkova (South Alabama)

Alexandria Stiteler/Monica Mitta (South Alabama)